Individual Awards

Sigma Tau Delta has many awards for qualified student members and Faculty Sponsors. These awards are given annually in the areas of writing, performance, and service. Awards typically are announced at the annual convention.

Rectangle and Review Writing Awards

Awards are given to Society members who have submitted the best original works in poetry, critical essay, short story, and personal/informal essay to The Sigma Tau Delta Rectangle or The Sigma Tau Delta Review. Winners are announced at the annual convention. The award categories are:

  • E. Nelson James Poetry Award ($500)
  • Eleanor B. North Poetry Award ($500)
  • Frederic Fadner Critical Essay Award ($500)
  • Herbert L. Hughes Short Story Award ($500)
  • Elizabeth Holtze Best Personal or Informal Essay Award ($500)

Past Winners

Leadership and Service Awards

  • Student Leadership Award ($250 and a plaque)
    Due April 10, 2017
    Introduced in 2008, this award recognizes student members for demonstrating outstanding service to Sigma Tau Delta at the chapter level.
  • Delta Award (plaque)
    Due April 10, 2017
    An especially prestigious honor, recipients are recognized for outstanding service at multiple levels of the Society.
    Past Recipients