

2012 Convention Awards

Isabel Sparks President's Awards

Given for the best presentations by active student and alumni members at the Sigma Tau Delta International Convention, these awards were established in 1991 by Isabel Sparks, the fifth President of Sigma Tau Delta.

Convention Awards for Original Fiction

1st Place

Jacinto Zambrano (\$500) St. Edward's University (TX) "Famine's Books"

3rd Place

Matt Baker (\$150) Oklahoma Baptist University (OK) "The Tip Jar"

Convention Awards for Creative Non-Fiction

1st Place

Jordan Adkins (\$500) University of Pikeville (KY) "The Deep End"

3rd Place

Sarah McEllhenney (\$150) Cedarville University (OH) "On Not Dancing"

Convention Awards for Original Poetry

1st Place

Genean Granger (\$500) Northern Michigan University (MI) "Beyond Bellocq's Lens"

3rd Place

Miranda Stinson (\$150) University of Evansville (IN) "Six Poems on Youth and Age"

2nd Place

Bethany Wood (\$250) Lee University (TN) "Eternal Blossom"

2nd Place

Margaret Russell (\$250) Marian University (IN) "Four"

3rd Place

Adriana Montenegro (\$150) St. Edward's University (TX) "Bird of Paradise"

2nd Place

Alicia Cuomo (\$250) The College of New Jersey (NJ) "Your Daughter Is a Real Gem"

3rd Place

Ellie Douglass (\$150) St. Edward's University (TX) "Little Cup"

Sigma Tau Delta 2012 Convention Awards

Page 2

Isabel Sparks President's Awards (continued)

Convention Awards for Critical Essays, British Literature

1st Place

Brian Bellocq (\$500) Louisiana Tech University (LA) "Male Homoeroticism in *Heart of Darkness* and *Mrs. Dalloway*"

3rd Place

Jane Alford (\$150) University of Montevallo (AL) "The Object Dispossessed"

2nd Place

Mary-Catherine Breed (\$250) Pace University, New York Campus (NY) "Shakespeare's Absent Fathers as Colonizers"

Convention Awards for Critical Essays, American Literature

1st Place

Joseph Noble (\$500) Saint Vincent College (PA) "The Sun Rises in the East: Herman Melville's Prediction of the Japanese Challenge to American Hegemony in the Pacific"

2nd Place

Andrew Todd (\$250) John Carroll University (OH) "Inadequacy of 'Unreliability': Faulkner's Quentin Compson"

3rd Place

Justina Salassi (\$150) University of Louisiana, Monroe (LA)

"Naming Without Naming: Gertrude Stein's Poetic Language"

Convention Awards for Critical Essays, Other

1st Place

Jesse Goldberg (\$500) SUNY, College of Geneseo (NY) "Sacrificial Expenditure: Race and the 2008 Housing Crisis"

2nd Place

Brittani Howell (\$250) Mercer University (GA) "Blood and Laurels: Ovid's *Metamorphoses* and Anderson's *Speak*"

3rd Place

William Porter (\$150) SUNY, College of Geneseo (NY) "A Moral Defense of Poetry"

Convention Awards for Common Reader

1st Place

Cammy Sray (\$500) Cedarville University (OH) "'Train Yourself Not to Look Back': Ophelia Exoticized, Fetishized, and Othered Under Homi Bhabha's 'Regime of Visibility'"

2nd Place

Anessah Brown (\$250) Allen University (SC) "Picturing Ophelia"

3rd Place

Tabitha Lowery (\$150) Southern Arkansas University (AR)

"Do Not Frame Me: An Explication of Bellocq's Ophelia"

Sigma Tau Delta 2012 Convention Awards

Page 3

Other Convention Awards

Application Essay on Convention Theme

Gloria Adams-Hanley (\$100) St. Edward's University (TX) "Fingertips"

Kim Harrer (\$100) Metropolitan State College of Denver (CO) "Cosmic Awakening in John Milton's *Paradise Lost*" Anessah Brown (\$100) Allen University (SC) "Picturing Ophelia"

Alumni Epsilon Papers

Gary Thomas Smith (\$250) Alumnus of University of Pikeville (KY) Creative Paper: "Buried Alive"

Deborah Dessaso (\$125) Alumna of University of the District of Columbia Critical Paper: "(W)hat (T)he (L)ingua (F)ranca is Happening to Writing?" Christopher Cook (\$125) Alumnus of Southeastern Louisiana University (LA) Critical Paper: "The Divina Commedia – A Bridge Between Astrology and Christianity"

Chapter Display Award

1st PlaceUniversity of Nebraska, Kearney (NE) (\$100)
Xi Beta Chapter

Runner-Up Louisiana Tech University (LA) (\$50) Rho Gamma Chapter